BCCC Follows Mandated State Holiday Schedule

In light of a recent State Auditor’s report on leave practices at state community colleges, Beaufort County Community College announced that it complies with the State of North Carolina’s policy on leave for state employees. BCCC employees enjoy 12 paid holidays.

These holidays include Christmas, New Year’s Day, Labor Day, Veteran’s Day and Thanksgiving, among others. Outside of these 12 dates, when the college is closed, employees must take annual leave. The number of vacation days an employee accumulates is based on their tenure at the college. For example, the college closed for winter break between December 20 and January 2. Only four business days during this period were designated paid holidays; BCCC employees must use annual leave for the other days the college is closed.

“While college and university schedules differ from those of other state agencies, it is important that we adhere to state guidelines for vacation days,” said Dr. Dave Loope, BCCC president.

BCCC provides accessible and affordable quality education, effective teaching, relevant training and lifelong learning opportunities to the people of Beaufort, Hyde, Tyrrell and Washington Counties.