group of students behind a large sign that reads gamma beta phi.
The many successful faces of Gamma Beta Phi.

Gamma Beta Phi Doubles New Inductees

Gamma Beta Phi, the honor society at Beaufort County Community College, inducted new members into its organization on March 28. The group doubled its number of new inductees compared to the previous year. Members of the honor society must not only achieve academic success, they also take on projects that give back to the community.

This year, the group took on fundraising for the Pamlico Rose Institute for Sustainable Culture (PRISC). Gamma Beta Phi raised over $500 to help the organization provide housing for female veteran dealing with post-traumatic stress disorder and addiction.

Dr. Robert Greene Sands, CEO of PRISC, was there to deliver comments to the group; as was Dr. Keith Lyon, advisor for the group and history instructor; Chelsea Huggins, president of GBP; Lisa Hill, dean of arts and sciences, and BCCC President David Loope. Lyon listed off some of the diverse, far-flung and renowned universities where former members are now continuing their undergraduate and graduate work.

The auditorium was packed with proud friends and family of the new inductees.

Members of Gamma Beta Phi had a chance to tour Rose Haven, a future home and healing garden currently undergoing rehabilitation, when they delivered a check to PRISC. They sold “boots” during the holiday season to friends, family, employees and students. The group displayed these “boots”, tickets shaped like combat boots, on the windows of the student lounge. Each ticket is also memorialized in honor of a veteran or service member of our purchasers' choosing.

In the past, Gamma Beta Phi has raised funds for the Beaufort County Humane Society and Ruth’s House. The group has also volunteered at the Food Bank of the Albemarle and conducted roadside cleanups on Highway 264.

Members must be presently enrolled at BCCC and committed to excellence in education, to good character and to service. They must have completed 12 or more semester hours of college work and pay the one-time national membership fee of $60.00 along with local dues of $8.00 per semester. Members cannot have their grades drop below a GPA of 3.2. They cannot be absent from two regular meetings without justifiable excuse.

The new inductees were: Sarah Allender, Hayley Arnold, Marcela Arthur, Caroline Boyd, Katherine Brickhouse, Madison Bunting, Michelle Boyd Cahoon, Carlee Corey, Austin Lee Cox, Lacy Galloway, Martina Landino, Cindy Cruz-Loera, Makayla Cutler, Ashlyn Everette, Carleigh Findley, Jenny Futrell, Lacy Galloway, Victoria Gomez, Jazmin Vega Gomez, Timika Gorham, Melissa Hoggard, Kathryn Jones, Mara Gabrielle Jones, Layla Kendall, Katelyn Kincer, Lillian King, Courtney Lancaster, Martina Landino, Andrea Lumbreras, Danielle Nicole Mayo, Hope McKeever, Gloria Miranda, Erica Mitchell, Kayla Marie Mobley, Alexis Moore, Kristal Moore, Robert O’Brien, Melissa Olivares, Annabeth Pooser, Oswaldo Rangel, Crystal Reynolds, Toneasia Roberson, Jomaurie Rodman, Erika Sandoval, Kaila Mariah Smith, Roxanne Tate, Irvin Tellez, Whitley Toppin, Jessica Trueblood, Leah Beth Warren, Brianna Hope Waters, Cameron Michelle Whitehead, Haley Whitener, Otha Whitney and Ashlynn Woolard.