eight people in a collage
(Top, left to right) Justin Banks, Jessica Chadwick, Joelisa Drew, and Kaitlyn Hall. (Bottom, left to right) Jesse King, Jamari Spencer, Iesha Underwood and Jordan Woolard.

BCCC Foundation congratulates Spring 2021 scholarship recipients

The Beaufort County Community College Foundation is proud to announce the following scholarship recipients for the Spring 2021 semester. Eight-week, online Late Start classes start on March 8, and they are still open for registration. Before applying for scholarships, all applicants must complete a FAFSA. The Financial Aid Office will hold two virtual sessions to help students complete their FAFSA on Tuesday, February 16 from 9:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m. and Thursday, February 18 from 2:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m.

Justin Banks, 22, received the BCCC Board of Trustees Scholarship. The Chocowinity resident is working toward an Associate in Arts. Banks attended Calvary Baptist Church School, and he plans attend East Carolina University to earn a Bachelor of Science in Environmental Health. He is the husband of Stephen Peed. He currently works as a seasonal sales associate at Belk.

BCCC Trustee scholarship established in 1998 by the Board of Trustees is awarded to a fulltime student enrolled in a curriculum program. Recipient must be in good academic standing, show academic promise and demonstrate financial need. Students should have a minimum GPA of 3.0.

Jessica Chadwick, 30, received the Lucy Burgess Scholarship. The Winterville resident is working toward her Associate Degree in Nursing. She attended South Central High School and holds a Practical Nursing Degree from BCCC. She plans to earn her Bachelor of Science in Nursing.

Established in 1996 as a memorial to Lucy W. Burgess, a former resident of Beaufort County and long-term employee of the NC Department of Social Services, this annual scholarship is awarded to a student with academic promise. The recipient must have some work experience, be committed to getting an education, and have a GPA of 2.5 or higher.

Joelisa Drew, 30, received the Tayloe’s Hospital Pharmacy Medical Scholarship. The Edenton resident is working toward her Diploma in Practical Nursing. She attended John A. Holmes High School. The mother of one plans to work as a hospice nurse.

Tayloe’s Hospital Pharmacy Medical Scholarships are awarded annually to students pursuing a career in the medical field. Tayloe’s Hospital Pharmacy is now known as O’Neal’s Pharmacy. Qualifying students will have a 2.5 GPA or greater and must be a resident of Beaufort, Hyde, Martin, Tyrrell or Washington County. Student must demonstrate financial need.

Kaitlyn Hall, 20, received the Frances M. Barnes Trust Scholarship. The Williamston resident is a nursing student. Hall attended Bear Grass Charter School. She is the daughter of Rick and Beth Hall of Williamston. She plans to earn her Bachelor of Science in Nursing.

Frances M. Barnes Trust scholarships are awarded to Martin County curriculum and continuing educations attending BCCC who intend to reside and work in Martin County upon course completion. Students must meet respective scholarship guidelines for the curriculum or continuing education program of study, show satisfactory academic progress and demonstrate financial need.

Jesse King, 36, received the Gordon Hoffman Scholarship. The Winterville resident is part of the basic law enforcement training program. King attended D.H. Conley High School and holds an Associate in Applied Science in Criminal Justice and an Associate in Applied Science in Business Administration. The father of two is the son of Charlene King of Winterville. He plans to work as a deputy sheriff in Pitt County.

Created from the sale of land donated to the foundation by Dr. Gordon Hoffman, this scholarship is awarded to a law enforcement officer seeking to further his or her education with a degree in criminal justice. Prior to his retirement in 2003, Dr. Hoffman was the director of BCCC’s basic law enforcement training (BLET) program.

Jamari Spencer, 18, received the David Lee Jr. and the BCCC Staff Association Scholarships. The Washington resident is part of the automotive systems technology program. Spencer attended Northside High School, and he plans to work as a diesel mechanic. He is the son of Katrina Barrow and Hendrick Ebron of Washington. He currently runs his own business, Spencer Pressure Washing Solutions.

Established in 2007, two scholarships are provided annually to assist students during the fall and spring semesters. One student will be selected from the automotive program and second student from the business program. Students must have and maintain a 2.5 GPA and must not receive any other financial assistance.

To receive the BCCC Staff Association Scholarship, students must be enrolled in a technical, vocational or college transfer program, a resident in the state of North Carolina, a full-time student and have completed 12 semester credit hours toward their degree. A student needs to have a minimum of a 2.5 GPA and have excellence in their academic performance.

Iesha Underwood, 27, received the Kathy & Glenn Simpson Scholarship. The Winterville resident is working toward an Associate Degree in Nursing. The daughter of Felicia Wardrick, she attended South Central High School, holds a Bachelor of Arts in Public Health and a Master of Health Administration. She currently works as an assistant resident care coordinator at Spring Arbor of Greenville.

Established in 2018, this scholarship is awarded to a qualified and deserving student enrolled in a curriculum program that demonstrates academic promise and financial need. Students are required to have a minimum GPA of 2.5 and be enrolled a minimum of six credit hours.

Jordan Woolard, 27, received the Allen & Dorothy Taylor and WoodmenLife Scholarships. The Washington resident is working toward an Associate Degree in Nursing. Woolard attended Washington High School, and she plans work as a registered nurse and further her education as a nurse. She is the daughter of Jeff and Sherry Woolard of Washington.

Sam Taylor established this scholarship in memory of his parents, Dorothy and Allen Taylor. Scholarships are given to second year nursing RN students who are Beaufort County natives who intent to stay and work in Beaufort County and plan to continue their education at an accredit university towards a BS degree. Students must demonstrate financial need.

Established in 2016, WoodmenLife scholarships are awarded to students residing in Beaufort County who demonstrate financial need and strong academic promise. Scholarships are awarded annually for fall and spring semesters.